Leadership - Executive Committee

John M. Beck
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Aecon Group Inc.

Mr. Beck is Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Aecon and is a leader in the Canadian construction industry.  Mr. Beck has been a member of the Board of Directors since 1963. Mr. Beck has also served as Chairman of the Board of the Ontario Power Authority and as a director of the Canadian Council for Public Private Partnerships. He is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Financing Authority and also sits on the Board of Directors of the Macdonald-Laurier Institute for Public Policy.

A graduate in Civil Engineering from McGill University, Mr. Beck has more than 45 years of experience in the construction industry in Canada and internationally. His background includes corporate leadership in numerous construction activities including heavy civil projects such as bridges, highways, airport infrastructure, precast prestressed concrete manufacturing as well as buildings, commercial and industrial projects, and public-private partnerships for the development of infrastructure, such as airports and toll roads.  Mr. Beck was recently named a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and was inducted on June 2, 2011.

Terrance L. McKibbon
President and Chief Operating Officer
Aecon Group Inc.

As President and Chief Operating Officer (COO), Mr. McKibbon is responsible for operations across Aecon.  He moved into this role in March 2011 after having been the Executive Vice President and CEO of Aecon’s Infrastructure division since 2005. 

Mr. McKibbon is a well respected expert in the construction and infrastructure industry and brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the position.  With more than 30 years experience integrating and managing construction-related companies, he has proven abilities and a deep understanding of the diversity and complexity of Aecon’s operating environment.

Mr. McKibbon is a member of the Operating Engineers Local 793 Training Fund, based in Ontario, and former Trustee of the Labourers International Union of North America, based in Washington D.C.  He is a former President of the Canadian Pipeline Contractors Association and the Ontario Hot Mix Producers Association, and a former Board member of the Ontario Road Builders and Utility Contractors Associations.

Mr. McKibbon is certified by the Canadian Construction Association as a Gold Seal Project Manager.  He attended Carleton University where he studied geology as well as integrated science and economics programs.  Mr. McKibbon has been with Aecon since 1996.  

David Smales
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Aecon Group Inc.

Mr. Smales is Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Aecon Group.  In this role he is responsible for financial reporting and compliance, budgeting, and financial planning, treasury debt and cash management, as well as Aecon's capital market activities.

Before joining Aecon, Mr. Smales was Vice President and CFO of Catalyst Paper Corporation.  He has held a number of increasingly senior financial and operational positions both in Canada and the United Kingdom.  Mr. Smales is a Chartered Accountant and has a BA (Honours) degree from the University of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in England.

Paul P. Koenderman
Senior Advisor
Aecon Group Inc.

Mr. Koenderman is the Executive Vice President, Aecon Group Inc. and in March 2011 assumed the role of Executive Chairman of the Industrial Group.  In his role, Mr. Koenderman’s responsibilities include overseeing the wholly owned Aecon subsidiary Innovative Steam Technologies, along with strategic planning, business development and partnering within the Industrial Group.

He has over 30 years of industry experience and has held a number of executive leadership positions of increasing responsibility both in Canada and the United States.  Before joining Aecon, Mr. Koenderman was president of Babcock & Wilcox Canada.

Mr. Koenderman has chaired several organizations including the Canadian Exporters Association and the Canadian Nuclear Association.  He is currently the Vice Chairman of the Board of Governors for the University of Waterloo.  In 1998 he was awarded an achievement medal from the University of Waterloo for his accomplishments in the power generation industry and in 2003 he won the Ian McRae Award of Merit for his major business accomplishments in the Canadian nuclear field.  Mr. Koenderman received his Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Mechanical Engineering in 1971 from the University of Waterloo before completing an Executive MBA at Northeastern University in Boston in 1981.

L. Brian Swartz
Executive Vice President Legal and Commercial Services, Aecon Group Inc.

As Executive Vice President Legal and Commercial Services, Aecon Group Inc., Mr. Swartz has a broad portfolio of executive responsibilities in addition to his role as Chief Legal Officer. These include corporate secretarial, risk and surety, mergers and acquisitions, labour relations, as well as office and facilities services. Mr. Swartz is also Chair of the Aecon Project Risk Committee, a member of the Aecon Executive Committee, as well as a member of the Board of Directors for each of the wholly-owned subsidiaries of Aecon Group Inc. 

Mr. Swartz is a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Employers Council and a member of the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Corporate Counsel (London). He is Past Chair of the Construction Law Executive of the Ontario Bar Association.

Mr. Swartz received his Bachelor of Laws Degree from Osgoode Hall Law School of York University in 1981.