Skip to main content

Aecon receives National Safety Award and Routly Safety Award

May 28, 2013

Aecon's industry-leading commitment to safety continues to receive industry recognition.

The Canadian Construction Association (CCA) presented Aecon with the National Safety Award. This award recognizes a company’s commitment to eliminate health and safety risks in the workplace. The award was given during CCA’s 95th annual conference in Malbai, Quebec in March 2013.

This is the first time that Aecon has received this award. In November 2012, Aecon received the Certificate of Recognition (COR) Award  in Ontario – adding to its COR certification in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia.

“It is an honour to accept the CCA’s National Safety Award on behalf of Aecon. Safety remains and will continue to be our number one core value. We have over 170 dedicated safety personnel across Canada that are dedicated to helping Aecon achieve a zero-harm workplace,” said Mike Archambault, Vice President, Safety and Insurance, Aecon Group Inc. ”I would like to express my gratitude to all of the members of the CCA for recognizing our efforts and supporting Aecon’s ongoing commitment to safety.”

Aecon was also awarded the 2012 Routly Safety Award by the Ontario Road Building Association (ORBA) at the 86th annual ORBA Convention, held at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

Aecon received the Category Two award that recognizes outstanding safety performance in achieving the most consecutive lost-time injury-free man-hours 2,396,605 milestone. The award was presented by Al Beattie, President and Chief Executive Officer, of the Infrastructure Health and Health Association.   

“This is the second consecutive year that ACML has won the award in a category with many serious competitors in the road building industry. Providing Aecon employees with a safe working environment year after year is the best reward,” said Mike Archambault, Vice President, Safety and Insurance, Aecon Group Inc.